Real learning on the job

I know I have blogged about craving the real thing but I was pointed to another fellow class members blog post Is Uni Teaching us Everything we need to Know? via our learning path that I can really relate to.

As someone who has worked with the same company for most of my career I have been through many different job roles as I have developed and grown. Each time I started a new role I always felt overwhelmed and would doubt my ability to ever understand or learn how to do the new role. Of course in good time I would move past this point and eventually the role would become second nature and I would be teaching someone else new to the role.

The learning was always on the job. Yes we had a lot of procedures, policies and products to learn as well but the majority of learning and the implementation of this learning was on the job.

Leave a Reply

